Filing Fees & Methods of Payment
On August 17, 2003, California instituted a graduated fee for filing a probate case:
- A minimum of $185, and
- Gradually increasing to $3,500 for estates of up to $3.5 million, plus
- 0.2 % of any amount in excess of $3.5 million.
The filing fee in California for a $100 million estate is now $3,500 + $193,000 = Almost $200,000. In Washington, it’s $110. That California law must be known as the California Estate Planners’ Living Trust Act.
The current (January 1, 2011) fee for filing a Will is $20, which is nonrefundable upon any subsequent filing of a Petition for Adjudication. Consequently, if a Petition for Adjudication will likely be filed, the fee for filing a Will may be avoided by filing the Will together with the Petition for Adjudication.
The current (January 1, 2011) fee for filing a Petition for Adjudication is $230.
Of the six larger Puget Sound counties (King, Kitsap, Pierce, Snohomish, Thurston, and Whatcom) as well as Benton/Franklin, Clark, Spokane, and Yakima, all will accept for payment of filing fees:
- Cashier’s check, or
- Money order.
Of those counties, only King County will accept a personal check but it must be made:
- By a party to the action (eg, you, as the Petitioner),
- On a preprinted check form with your name imprinted on it, and
- Drawn on a bank with a branch in Washington.